The New England Transfer Association recognizes and honors professionals who have made a difference in the lives of their students, their institutions, their profession, and/or our Association.

The Rising Star Award and The Distinguished Service Award were not presented in 2020. We look forward to receiving nominations for deserving colleagues for both awards in the spring of 2021.

If you have any questions please contact:

Tony Trodella

Chair of NETA Awards Committee


Rising Star Award Recipient

Kevin Van Develde

Assistant Director of Transfer Admissions

University of Massachusetts Amherst

Award Qualifications:

  • Has no more than five years of experience in the transfer field
  • Has made a significant contribution to transfer
  • Shows long-term potential in the field of transfer
  • Exemplifies a commitment to transfer students
  • Must be a NETA member

Previous Rising Star Award Winners:

  • 2018 Sydney Morgan, Simmons College
  • 2017 Meri Amaral, Framingham State University
  • 2016 Carolyn Freer, Bay Path University
  • 2015 Dayna Bradstreet, Simmons College
  • 2014 Michael Russell, Western New England University
  • 2013 Brendan Stamm, Southern New Hampshire University
  • 2012 Nora Luquer, Nichols College
  • 2011 Lianne Hansen, Western New England University


Sarah Elizabeth Crane

Distinguished Service Award RECIPIENT

Mary Olenick - Coordinator of Transfer & Articulation

Cape Cod Community College

Award Qualifications

  • Is a current member of NETA and works with transfer students
  • Exercises active professional leadership in transfer advocacy
  • Has made significant contributions in transfer, to the students they serve and are respected professionals in their field.
  • Active participation in NETA OR active participation in the betterment of their own community around transfers
  • Has a strong sense of professional integrity
  • Is guided by a collaborative spirit

Past Award Recipients:

  • 2018 Jane Fain, Middlesex Community College
  • 2017 Dan de la Torre, Quinsigamond Community College
  • 2016 Bryan Wint, Middlesex Community College
  • 2015 Cheryl Monahan, UMass Boston
  • 2014 Brenda Doran, Bryant University
  • 2013 Deb Suggs, University of Rhode Island
  • 2012 Ann Ibara, Bristol Community College
  • 2011 Nate Bergstrom, Albertus Magnus College
  • 2010 Gerald Durkin, University of Massachusetts Lowell
  • 2009 Sid Dalby, Smith College
  • 2008 J.A. Tony Carberry, Central Connecticut State College
  • 2007 Eileen Shea, Bristol Community College
  • 2006 Carolyn Dietel, Mount Holyoke College
  • 2005 Dwight Cook, Bridgewater State College
  • 2004 Mark Broadbent, Holyoke Community College
  • 2003 Nancy Fine, Suffolk University
  • 2002 Jimmie Roberts, Bunker Hill Community College
  • 2001 Kathy Ryan, University of Massachusetts Amherst
  • 2000 Cathy Pride, Middlesex Community College (MA)
  • 1999 Pauline Mortenson, American International College
  • 1998 Terri Labine, University of Massachusetts Amherst